Support NMH: Boathouse Project


Boathouse fundraising goal:
$6.6 million

Give Now

Northfield Mount Hermon has unveiled plans for a new $6.6 million boathouse to serve its rapidly growing rowing program. The much-needed facility will replace a 50-year-old building that has long been too small for the program it serves. NMH offers competitive rowing in both the fall and spring seasons, and each year more than 100 students participate, making it one of the school’s most popular sports. Many NMH rowers have gone on to row in top collegiate programs, and some continue on to compete internationally on the junior, U-23, and senior national teams. This past summer, one NMH crew alumna, Tessa Gobbo ’09, won gold at the Rio Olympics as a member of the U.S. women’s eight boat.“NMH is where I was introduced to rowing,” said Gobbo, who returned to her alma mater in September 2016 to share her Olympic experience with students. “I received a great education here, and received so much support from everyone. I’m really excited about the new boathouse. The school deserves to have a facility that matches the quality of its program.”

Current parents Michelle and Rob Smith P’15, ’15, ’17, ’19 made a generous and historic lead gift that started the ball rolling for this exciting project, which will support the growing NMH crew program as well as the entire campus community.

Fundraising Progress

The Case for a New Boathouse

Boathouse Power 10 Challenge

A group of enthusiastic crew supporters (the BLADE Committee) has pooled their donations to create the Power 10 Challenge. Gifts of all sizes to the new boathouse will be matched 1:1, up to $1 million, resulting in a $2 million pooled gift. Join the excitement and make your boathouse gift today!

BLADE* Committee (as of December 2016)
Allyson Goodwin ’83, P’12, ’14, co-chair
Vicky Jenkins, co-chair
Ned Benning ’12
Nora Bisharat ’04
Katie Willmann Breard ’06
Eliza Edwards Burden ’84
Stella Cai ’15
Ned Craun ‘74
Nicole Dancel ’09
Elizabeth Donald ’07
Rebecca Donald ’07
Gayle & Buddy Dublin P’17
Mara Keggi Ford ’80
Graham Forrester ’16
Tessa Gobbo ’09
Spencer Hattendorf ’08
Kate Kaming ’90, P’19
Neil Kiely ’70
Teresa Le ’07
Jacques Levy ’90
John Mitchell ‘56
Andrew Ness ’04
Victor Nuovo ’77, P’19
Kartik Rathore ’02
Nikki Rossetti ’08
Haley Short ’14
Margaret Sieck ’72
Hannah Solis-Cohen ’12
Roberta Taggert ’07
Sarah-Anne Tanner ’08
Matthew Trevithick ’04
Eliza van Lennep ’05
Justin Wai ’02
Warren Webster ’92
Peter Weis ’78
Carol Wood ’06
*BLADE=Boathouse Leadership Advancement Development Enterprise

Naming Opportunities

Download a PDF of current naming opportunities.

Interview with Olympic Rower Tessa Gobbo ’09


NMH Crew Photos