Valedictorian Named; Academic Stars Honored

April 8, 2019 — At today’s all-school meeting, Head of School Charles A. Tierney III congratulated the Class of 2019 valedictorian, Cheaheon Ian Lim (pictured above) and salutatorian, Cora Barrett.

He also announced the names of 17 NMH seniors — all of whom achieved outstanding academic records during their junior and senior years — elected to membership in the Cum Laude academic honor society.  This independent school national honor society is the secondary-school equivalent of Phi Beta Kappa. 

Last fall, 16 NMH students were elected to early membership based on their junior year records. Recently, 17 more students were elected to the society, based on their junior and senior year records. In addition, three one-year students were honored for academic records that would qualify them for Cum Laude honors if NMH was permitted to elect postgraduates and other one-year students to the honor society.

This year's Cum Laude honor society inductees are Nolan Abeyta, Nashely Alvarez, Lars Andrews, Cora Barrett, Polina Barzova, Grace Briggs, Amelia Chalfant, Tzu-Shiuan Danny Chen, Keith DeSantis, Michael Dunderdale, Grace Eggleston, Ethan Heo, Shih-An Ethan Ho, Thaddeus Howe, Michael Shao Hu, Miles Kaming-Thanassi, Rebekah Keator, Lambert Kober, Annabelle Larnard, Cheaheon Ian Lim, Hung-Wei Garcia Lu, Yanxin Tina Ma, Kazuo Nakamura, Lucia Nuovo, Jefferson Pruett, Lillian Richards, Patrick Rochford, Phoebe Rossman, Brendyn Sang, Miles Savitz, Connor Wall, Hongyi Leo Yang, Asset Yermekkaliyev, Mona Zhang, Zhaojun Jonas Zhai, and Chujun Julia Zhao.