Skip To Main Content

NMH Success in the Winter Sports Season

Records were broken and championships were won during the NMH winter athletics season, which finished out its season in March 2020. Here are the highlights.

Alpine Skiing

  • Girls’ varsity alpine won its eighth straight Mt. Institute Ski League (MISL) Championship and finished third in the New England Class A Championships.
  • Boys’ varsity alpine finished second in the MISL.
  • On the boys’ team, Isaac Foster ’20 completed a perfect season, winning all six league races.

Boys’ Varsity Basketball

  • Boys’ varsity basketball finished the 2019-20 season ranked fifth in the country. This is the 11th straight year that NMH has been ranked in the top five in a season.
  • The team finished the season with more than 28 wins for the fifth consecutive season and made its eighth trip to the National Prep Championship Final Four.
  • Avery Brown ’22, Luca Lukacevic ’20, and Prince Moses ’20 tied the NMH basketball record for most games played in a season with 38 games.
  • Darius Ervin ’20 passed the 1,000-point career mark and tied the record for most wins in a career with 121 wins.
  • Moses ’20, Ervin ’20, and Ben Callahan-Gold ’20 were named McDonald’s All-American nominees.
  • The team played in the Bahamas and Canada this season in addition to the U.S.
  • The team was invited to play in the national Gatorade High School Game hosted by Bleacher Report, which took place on the elevated transparent “Crystal Court” in Chicago during the NBA’s All-Star weekend.
  • The team was recognized as the best academic and basketball program in the country in a three-part video series produced by Overtime. Watch episode 1, episode 2, and episode 3. Read more here.

Girls’ Varsity Basketball

  • The team won their fifth straight New England Eight Championship.
  • Grace Ceseretti ’22 was named Most Outstanding Player.
  • Asha Parker ’21 and Adia Burrows ’20 were named All-Stars. Parker was also named the Say Yes to Success MVP.

Boys’ Varsity Ice Hockey

  • The team had its third straight winning season for the first time in more than 30 years.
  • The team had three wins over top 10 teams.
  • Connor Hasley ’20 ranked third in New England for save percentage, sixth for saves, fifth in minutes played, and was NMH's shutout all-time leader.
  • Joe Solimine '21 was the point leader and goal leader.
  • Reese Farrell ’20 was the assist leader and reached 100 career prep school points.

Nordic Skiing

  • Adam Carlisle ’20 finished in first place in the Lakes Region High School Nordic League standings and made the New England Junior National Team.
  • In New Englands, Carlisle ’20 finished second in the men’s individual event.
  • Hollin Keyser-Parker ’22 placed 10th and Celeste DiLeo ’22 finished 11th in the women’s individual event in New Englands.


  • Jack Brazer ’20 broke the NMH boys’ 50-yard freestyle record from 1997 with a new time of 21.76 seconds at New Englands.
  • At New Englands, the boys’ relay team — Garrett Weil ’20, Arin Smutharaks ’21, Brazer, and Asher Choi ’20 — broke the NMH 200-yard medley relay record from 2011 with a new time of 1:41.89.

Coed Wrestling

  • Girls’ wrestling won the New England Championships, and Katie Gatza ’20 became NMH’s first female New England Champion.
  • Girls’ wrestling won an All-Female Tournament at Phillips Academy Andover.
  • Boys’ wrestling defended its Class A title for the second year in a row and became 2020 Class A Champions.
    • Tyler Knox ’23: 120 Champion
    • David Barrett ’23: 138 Champion
    • Hunter Hockensmith ’20: 152 Champion
    • Charlie McLaughlin ’20: 160 Champion
    • Aiden Hanning ’21: 182 Champion
  • Boys’ wrestling finished second at the New England Independent School Wrestling Association (NEISWA) Championships.
    • Aiden Hanning ’21: 170 New England Champion
    • Tyler Knox ’23: 113 New England Champion
  • Boys’ wrestling finished 13th in the nationals:
    • Aiden Hanning ’21 is a runner-up
    • Tyler Knox ’23 finished seventh
  • Boys’ wrestling All-Americans: Aidan Hanning ’21, who received this honor for the second time, and Tyler Knox ’23