Skip To Main Content

Boys’ Varsity Basketball Wins 2019 NEPSAC Class AAA Championship!

Boys’ Varsity Basketball Wins 2019 NEPSAC Class AAA Championship!

Northfield Mount Hermon boys’ varsity basketball beat Brewster Academy, 96-85, to win back-to-back NEPSAC Class AAA Championships.

NMH, the defending New England champions and the #1 seed, faced off against #2 seed Brewster Academy at Western New England University for the 2019 NEPSAC AAA Championship.

NMH got out first with a 5-0 lead. Brewster responded, took the lead, and played with a lead for the most of the first half. Brewster had the hot hand, shooting 9-14 from 3, led by sophomore Terrance Clarke's 22 first-half points. NMH closed the gap heading into halftime, thanks to a Chris Ledlum ’19 three-pointer. Harvard commit Ledlum led NMH with 20 first-half points. Brewster led 52-45 at the half.

Brewster quickly built a double-digit lead to start the second half, then Ben Callahan-Gold ’20 entered. Ben hit 6-8 from three-point range to get NMH back into the game and build a lead of their own. NMH also stepped up their defensive effort and limited Brewster's second-chance opportunities. NMH played with a 5-8 point advantage for the final four minutes before closing out the game from the free-throw line. NMH wins 96-85.

Another great team effort, NMH had four players in double figures — championship MVP Ledlum with 31 points, nine rebounds, four assists, two steals, and two blocks; Callahan-Gold with 20 points (6-8 from 3); Darius Ervin ’20 with 12 points, four rebounds and two assists; and Michael Jankovich ’19 with 11 points and two rebounds. This is the first time NMH has won back-to-back New England championships. It is their third championship in four years, and fourth in the past seven years.
It’s been a record-breaking season for NMH basketball as they head into the National Championship tournament. They set a new record for wins in a regular season (30) and a full season (32) with the championship win. University of Pennsylvania commit Max Lorca-Lloyd ’19 became the all-time winningest player (121) in NMH basketball history. He also owns the record for blocks in a season (114) and a career (318). Harvard University commit Ledlum is now the record holder for points (51), free throws made (18) and attempted (20) in a game, and for points (920), free throws made (222) and attempted (326) in a season. Ervin and Callahan-Gold tied the record for games played in a season (38). Head coach John Carroll ’89 hit his 300th win as head coach and is now the all-time winningest coach in NMH basketball history (309).

In NEPSAC AAA postseason honors, Lorca-Lloyd earned NEPSAC AAA honorable mention, Greg Dolan ’19 earned second-team NEPSAC AAA, and Ledlum earned NEPSAC AAA player of the year.

NMH got their 10th consecutive invite to the National Championship tournament. They face Scotland Campus at 5:15pm in the quarterfinals on Wednesday, March 6, at Connecticut College. Find more details about the tournament here.