Boys' Basketball

2013 National Champions!
2012 New England (NEPSAC AAA) Champions!

The Northfield Mount Hermon boys' basketball team plays in the prestigious New England Prep School Athletic Conference (NEPSAC) AAA, considered the premier prep conference in the nation. Over the past 10 years, NMH has sent more than 50 players to Division I college programs and others have gone on to great collegiate careers at Division II and Division III levels. 

NMH is considered the best combination of academics and basketball in the United States. In 2013-2014, NMH will have 11 players in the Ivy League, which is over 3x more than any other school in the nation, with players at Princeton University, two at Yale University, Brown University, three at Dartmouth College, and four at Harvard University. In all, NMH will have more than two dozen Division I players in 2013-2014 at the University of Illinois, four at the University of Vermont, Boston College, George Washington University, Bucknell University, University of Maine, Siena College, Tulane University, University of Michigan and others. The 2012-2013, all 7 graduating NMH players moved on to Division 1.

NMH basketball has been ranked among the top five teams in the country over the past 5 years and was the national championship finalist in 2010 and has qualified for the national tournament for 4 consecutive years. NMH has been among the top 10 ranked basketball programs for the past 11 years. Over the past two seasons, NMH basketball has set and tied the school record for wins at 29.

The 2011-2012 NMH basketball again distinguished their program as the best combination of academics and basketball in the country. NMH was ranked the #3 team in the country and set a school record with 29 wins finishing the season as the NEW ENGLAND CLASS AAA CHAMPIONS. NMH remained undefeated for the history of the 8 School tournament and also remained undefeated at the Scholar Roundball Classic. NMH moved their record to 3-1 All-Time versus teams ranked #1 in the country. In 2012-2013, NMH won the NEPSAC AAA regular season title winning the 2013 NATIONAL PREP CHAMPIONS and finishing the #1 ranked team in the country!

NMH has qualified for the NEPSAC tournament 24 out of the last 25 years. Featuring an up-tempo offense and an aggressive man-to-man defense, NMH teams are consistently made up of talented student-athletes who value an exceptional private school education and can compete at the highest level, with the exposure that NEPSAC basketball provides. The role of the student-athlete is stressed by the coaching staff.

If you are a prospective student-athlete, please fill out our athletic questionnaire by clicking here.

Thank you!

John Carroll ’89

Head Coach, Boys' Basketball

  Click here for more NMH
boys'_basketball photos.

2013 National Champions
2012 New England Champions! (NEPSAC AAA)
2010 National Championship finalist
2011 & 2012 National Championship quarterfinalist

Coach John Carroll '89- 2x Coach of the Academic All-American game.

Zena Edosomwan (Harvard University)- McDonald's All-American Nominee
Skyler White (George Washington University)- McDonald's All-American Nominee

Spike Albrecht (University of Michigan)- 2nd team All-American

Aaron Cosby (Seton Hall University)- McDonald's All-American Nominee
Joe Sharkey (Brown University)- McDonald's All-American Nominee
Vince Van Nes (Fairfield University)- McDonald's All-American Nominee

Laurent Rivard (Harvard University)- McDonald's All-American Nominee
Majok Majok (Ball State University)- McDonald's All-American Nominee
Matt Brown (Harvard University)- McDonald's All-American Nominee
Chris Fitzgerald (Columbia University)- McDonald's All-American Nominee
Hector Harold (University of Vermont)- McDonald's All-American Nominee
Josh Elbaum (University of Vermont)- McDonald's All-American Nominee, 2x Jewish 1st team All-American
Clancy Rugg (University of Vermont)- McDonald's All-American Nominee

Mike Marra (University of Louisville)- Academic All-American
Peter McMillan (Cornell University)- Academic All-American
Andrew McCarthy (Brown University)- Academic All-American
Ryan Peters (Lehigh University)- Academic All-American

Andrew Van Nest (Harvard University/ Boston College)- McDonald's All-American Nominee
Simon McCormack (American University)- McDonald's All-American Nominee
Josh Riddle (Dartmouth College)- McDonald's All-American Nominee
David Rufful (Dartmouth College)- McDonald's All-American Nominee

Tyrone Nash (University of Notre Dame)- McDonald's All-American Nominee
Matt Glass (University of Vermont)- McDonald's All-American Nominee

Adam Walker (Howard University)- McDonald's All-American Nominee

Sky Khaleel (Loyola University/ Adelphi University)- McDoanld's All-American Nominee

NMH alums, Captains in college
Jvonte Brooks '11 - Dartmouth College, 2012-13
Laurent Rivard '10 - Harvard University, 2012-13
Simon McCormack '08 - American University, 2011-12
David Rufful '08 - Dartmouth College, 2011-12
Matt Glass '07 - University of Vermont, 2011-12
Ty Nash '07 - University of Notre Dame, 2010-11
Jerrell Williams '07 - LaSalle University, 2010-11
Clive Weeden '07 - Dartmouth College, 2010-11
Tony Gaffney '04 - University of Massachusetts, 2008-09
Boris Meno '04 - Davidson College, 2007-08